Patient Reviews

Reviews for Dallas, TX Plastic Surgeon James H. Merritt, M.D.

Choosing a physician to care for your eyes and vision is one of the most important decisions you can make. You want someone who is both knowledgeable and accessible. Whether seeking a doctor for correction of a medical condition or for cosmetic eyelid surgery, you want someone willing to take the time to listen to your concerns and go over all of your treatment options. At Oculoplastic Associates of Texas, we pride ourselves on our patient service. We offer caring and experienced surgeons, a courteous and helpful staff, and the latest medical technology. Learn more about the doctors and services of Oculoplastic Associates of Texas by reading the reviews of real patients.

Filter21 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from M.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Feb 01, 2018

Extremely kind and very informative. Excellent with our nine year old. Office is well kept and clean. Staff was friendly and we did not have to wait long to be called back. Maybe 10 minutes. I would definitely recommend Dr. Merritt. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Sep 14, 2018

He's the Best - Dr. Merritt is the best, he is understanding, kind and willing to spend the time explaining his procedure to fix your eyes. I picked him out in a google search and it was the best decision I've ever made. My eye lids had dropped from cataract surgery and I had been looking through my eye lashes for about a year. Now I have great vision and quite a pretty look to my eyes. If I ever have any more issues he is the only one I will go to. His nurse is great and the girls at the front desk were kind and helpful. He also has a fantastic surgical crew.nWe need more doctors like Dr. Merritt. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.F.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 25, 2018

Dr Merritt is not only extremely talented as a surgeon but he is outrageously kind and caring.  Chosen as physician of the year by the doctors at Texas Healthcare Presbyterian Hospital Dallas for very good reasons. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Jun 25, 2018

Great doctor - For good reason he has been chosen as "Physician of the year" by the medical staff at Texas Health Presbyterian Hospital Dallas Medical Staff. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jun 25, 2018

incredibly competent, caring, For good reasons he was chosen as "physician of the year" by the votes of Texas Health Presbyterian Hospital Dallas Medical Staff More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Apr 16, 2018

Dr. Merritt went above and beyond for my care. You could not wish for a better physician. He is knowledgeable, caring and dedicated to providing the best for the well-being of his patients. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Jan 14, 2017

Great Surgeon - Dr. Merritt did bilateral ptosis procedure on me. Found him to be a great surgeon. Needs a little work on personality and patient interface, but I have found that the best surgeons are generally that way. Would recommend him highly. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.S.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jul 25, 2017

Dr. Merritt repaired the torn ligament in my eye, and adjusted the other eye. I am so happy with the outcome of the surgery! I first met Dr. Merritt when my mother need plastic surgery to repair an eyelid after she had had multiple surgeries for glaucoma. I would give Dr. James Merritt III as many stars as I could for his excellent oculoplastic surgery skills and his kindness to his patients. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Jul 24, 2017

A Confident Surgeon - I knew the minute he walked into the office that I had picked the right ophthalmologist. He looked right into my eyes and said with confidence, I can help you. I'm three weeks out of surgery and the results get better everyday. Both Dr Merrit and his staff were with me from insurance approval through recovery and after. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-14290161
Review from L.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 11, 2017

Dr Merritt has been more than helpful reconstructing my eyelid. He has gone above and beyond More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Apr 05, 2016

Dr. Merritt is incredibly talented and knowledgeable. He takes what ever time is necessary to explain things to the patient so they can understand. He has always answered all of my questions and he makes me feel very comfortable with recommendations he makes. He is one of the most caring and compassionate people I have ever met. Truly a great doctor. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.S.  |  Source: Vitals  |  Jan 16, 2016

Superb, compassionate technician/expert - Dr. Merritt enjoys a well-deserved reputation as the doctor of choice in his field. He is kind and respectful, addressing your questions patiently. I had a tearing problem for about 8 years which I just lived with. I finally took action when a top plastic surgeon I know personally noticed it and said Dr Merritt was the professional in this area to whom he refers. Dr Merritt performed diagnostic procedures in his office that were pain free and determine i I needed a bypass. My procedure involved about 8 stitches between eye corner next to nose given where they had to enter in my particular case and in less than 2 weeks the scar was virtually invisible. The stent came out early and my tearing is about 95% gone. I urge anyone needing to have any eye surgery to meet with Dr. Merritt. I trust him completely and consider myself very discerning in this area. Frankly, he ranks tops in my book among physicians I've had experience with for technical skill as well as a caring attitude. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-7987071
Review from F.  |  Source: Superpages  |  May 11, 2015

I highly recommend Dr. James H. Merritt for your medical needs. He corrected a surgery mistake by another doctor. He is professional. Dr. Merritt kindly listened to my experience, and told me what was needed in the way of surgery. He did not rush a surgery. He took the needed time to answer my questions. He is wonderful! I live 75 miles from Dallas, I will return. Top shelf Doctor and person! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: UCompareHealthcare  |  May 11, 2015

Dr. James Merritt corrected another doctors surgery mistake. - Professional, kind, wonderful bed side manner, answers your questions. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-7878380
Review from F.F.  |  Source: Facebook  |  May 08, 2015

Dr. James Merritt in Dallas cares about your health and well being. He recently corrected another doctors mistake. Did a great job! I highly recommend Dr. Merritt. He cares, and spends quality time with his patients. The front office works hard to take care of your scheduling. I not only consider Dr. James Merritt to be top shelf in his profession, but a friend. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from F.F.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 07, 2015

Unfortunate interesting eye surgery from another Doctor.  I went for a second opinion on a Friday.  The surgeon examined my eye, then let me know he did not feel comfortable performing this corrective surgery.   While we were in his office, he called his friend Dr. James Merritt Oculoplastic Associates of Texas and ask if he would see me.   Dr. Merritt ask me to come in the following Monday, this was impressive!            Checking in as a new patient, the staff is top shelf, well trained and care about their patients.  From the moment Dr. Merritt stepped into the examining room on the first visit, he was professional, compassionate, and took the time needed as we discussed six months of eye pain and problems that had occurred.  Dr. Merritt didn't rush a surgery.  He scheduled visits and gave time for my eye to completely heal.   He has now performed corrective surgery, and I'm on my way to recovery.  One of the most memorable experience was in the room awaiting surgery.  A beautiful, familiar song began playing, then another song before medication was given.  Dr. Merritt had remembered, I loved gospel music and sing with our family group.  His thoughtfulness is sweet.  I will never forget this priceless moment of special kindness given just for me.   Dr. James H. Merritt with Oculoplastic Associates of Texas is the most thoughtful, compassionate, caring doctor I have met.  Dallas, TX. is fortunate to have you!  I live 75 miles away and will drive this distance again.  I highly recommend Dr. James Merritt.  I am pleased with the results of my surgery.  He is knowledgeable, honest, and will do his very best to take care of your medical needs.  I trust him! I consider Dr. Merritt not only a great Doctor but my friend.Frances Fulton More

5.0
DAPI
Review from F.F.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 07, 2015

Unfortunate interesting eye surgery from another Doctor.  I went for a second opinion on a Friday.  The surgeon examined my eye, then let me know he did not feel comfortable performing this corrective surgery.   While we were in his office, he called his friend Dr. James Merritt Oculoplastic Associates of Texas and ask if he would see me.   Dr. Merritt ask me to come in the following Monday, this was impressive!             Checking in as a new patient, the staff is top shelf, well trained and care about their patients.  From the moment Dr. Merritt stepped into the examining room on the first visit, he was professional, compassionate, and took the time needed as we discussed six months of eye pain and problems that had occurred.  Dr. Merritt didn't rush a surgery.  He scheduled visits and gave time for my eye to completely heal.   He has now performed corrective surgery, and I'm on my way to recovery.  One of the most memorable experience was in the room awaiting surgery.  A beautiful, familiar song began playing, then another song before medication was given.  Dr. Merritt had remembered, I loved gospel music and sing with our family group.  His thoughtfulness is sweet.  I will never forget this priceless moment of special kindness given just for me.   Dr. James H. Merritt with Oculoplastic Associates of Texas is the most thoughtful, compassionate, caring doctor I have met.  Dallas, TX. is fortunate to have you!  I live 75 miles away and will drive this distance again.  I highly recommend Dr. James Merritt.  I am pleased with the results of my surgery.  He is knowledgeable, honest, and will do his very best to take care of your medical needs.  I trust him! I consider Dr. Merritt not only a great Doctor but my friend. Frances Fulton More

5.0
ReviewTracker-7478535
Review from F.L.  |  Source: Vitals  |  Mar 23, 2015

Unfortunate bad eye surgery from another Doctor. I went for a second opinion. The surgeon took a look, then let me know he did not feel comfortable doing this corrective surgery. He called his friend Dr. James Merritt and ask if he would see me. Dr. Merritt ask me to come in the following Monday. From the moment Dr. Merritt stepped into the examining room on my first visit, he showed compassion, and listened to my six months of eye pain. He has since performed corrective surgery, and I am on my way to recovery. My most memorable experience before surgery. I was awake and heard a beautiful, familiar song playing, then another song before I went to sleep. This is precious to me. You see, I am a singer. I will never forget this priceless moment of special kindness given just for me. Dr. James Merritt is the most thoughtful, compassionate, caring one I have met. Top shelf! I have already let friends know Dr. James H. Merritt is knowledgeable, honest, and will do his best to take care of your medical needs. I trust him! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Mar 23, 2015

Dr. Merritt corrected another doctors bad surgery. - Unfortunate bad eye surgery from another Doctor. I went for a second opinion. The surgeon took a look, then let me know he did not feel comfortable doing this corrective surgery. He called his friend Dr. James Merritt and ask if he would see me. Dr. Merritt ask me to come in the following Monday. From the moment Dr. Merritt stepped into the examining room on my first visit, he showed compassion, and listened to my six months of eye pain. He has since performed corrective surgery, and I am on my way to recovery. My most memorable experience before surgery. I was awake and heard a beautiful, familiar song playing, then another song before I went to sleep. This is precious to me. You see, I am a singer. I will never forget this priceless moment of special kindness given just for me. Dr. James Merritt is the most thoughtful, compassionate, caring one I have met. Top shelf! I have already let friends know Dr. James H. Merritt is knowledgeable, honest, and will do his best to take care of your medical needs. I trust him! More

5.0
ReviewTracker-7478536
Review from T.M.  |  Source: Vitals  |  Jan 28, 2014

Dr. Merritt actually met me in his office on Easter Sunday to stitch my eyelid back together. HE has since performed numerous corrective surgeries on my eyelid to try to fix what a horrible doctor did to me. I trust Dr. Merritt and know that he is very knowledgeable and can help with any issue you may have. I will have to see him for the rest of his career/my life for medication and know he will always help :) More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.M.  |  Source: Vitals  |  Sep 25, 2013

Eyelid surgery - I was in his office with an elderly parent & he noticed that i had one droopy eyelid, the result of an eye infection. He looked at it & indicated that IF i was interested in correcting he could help me. I made an appt to come back & soon was having the procedure. It was so easy, no pain & I now have too eyes that match. I Could Not Be Happier. I found Dr Merritt to be kind, thoughtful & patient. I was never rushed & he answered all my questions. I highly recommend him & have sent friends & family to him, they were pleased as well. 4 stars in my book. More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.